The Division of sculpture aims to further develop the professional four-year education undertaken by students at universities. To foster specialists who have advanced knowledge about and outstanding skills in the entire field of molding and sculpture, the curriculum is organized so that students can selectively learn practical skills of molding, wood carving, stone carving, metal carving, terra cotta, etc., through practicums and exercises in addition to lectures. From the second year, students are required to research their selected topic in depth in order to successfully complete their graduation research.

Main Specialized Subjects

Studio Work: Clay Modeling-1, Studio Work: Clay Modeling-2

Studio Work: Carving-1, Studio Work: Carving-2

Studio Work: Metalworking (Casting and Welding)

Studio Work: Terra-cotta

Advanced Studio Work: Sculpture A, Advanced Studio Work: Sculpture B

Advanced Studio Work: Sculpture C, Advanced Studio Work: Sculpture D

Alumni/ae Career Paths

The career paths of alumni/ae who undertake sculpture education at our school include sculptors, 3D modeling artists, designers, etc. in addition to teachers of art in junior high and high schools. In addition, other career paths to research positions are possible, including faculty members of universities, researchers of specialized institutions, and curatorial staff of museums/museums of art.

Alumni/ae including:

1983      IKEGAWA Sunao            Professor, Kagoshima University, Member of Nitten (JFAE)

1987      MIYAZAKI Ko                  Professor, Chiba University

1990      MURAKAMI Yusuke       Professor, Hyogo University of Teacher Education

1992      SENBONGI Naoyuki       Professor, Fukuoka University of Teacher Education

1995      KASAI Eiji                          Professor, Gifu University, Member of Shinseisaku Association

1995      TOMOTARI Mikako         Professor, Kyushu University, Member of Kokugakai  Association

1998      MATSUO Daisuke             Associate Professor, Joetsu University of Education   Member of Kokugakai     Association

2001      YOSHIKA Shin                   Associate Professor, Tōhoku University of Art & Design

2002      NAKAHARA Atsunori      Professor, Ryutsu Keizai University, Member of   Nitten (JFAE)

2003      HAYASHI Sawako             Assistant Professor, Joshibi University of Art and Design, Member of Niki-kai Association

2009      MIKAMI Kei                       Full-time Lecturer, Toyo Eiwa University, Associate Member of  Niki-kai Association

2012      WATANABE Sunao           Full-time Lecturer, Kyoritsu Women’s University, Member of Kokugakai Association

※ Graduates before Master’s Program in Art

© Copyright - Art and Design, University of Tsukuba